YouTube videos on this wonderful masterpiece by Indian writer R. K. Narayan bring forth the realities of colonial India and yet beautifully revives our childhood memories. English teachers can show these videos to the students before a classroom discussion.

Watch the first episode below

About Atiya

I like to enjoy everyday to its fullest whether I am teaching, researching or developing my special talent of creative instigation. I am an ardent coffee addict and a lover of sea food. When I am not imagining flower gardens or catching others off balance, I am cooking, singing, reading, shopping or taking a walk in the sunshine. I live in Melbourne with my husband. And I am currently pursuing PhD in Education. My research focuses on the potential of transnational learning networks to support the professional development of teachers in India.
This entry was posted in YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Becky says:

    As one of the earliest of English fiction and short story writer, Narayan has well captured the sentiments of his times. Thanks for sharing the link Atiya Ma’am! Reminds me of good old doordarshan days. Grade VIII students in my school have this as a rapid reader textbook in their course. Good idea to use this as an introduction though.

  2. Well said becky.These videos also can be a very good resource for improving our students’ interpretation and translation skills from hindi to english language. Also useful for dramatisation. Thanks for sharing atiya.

  3. Smita says:

    good stories…and well dramatised…nice enough to familiarise students with the context of the stories….

Leave a comment